Grilled Panzanella Salad

10463956_10102997129280792_6344419010986421542_n

The countdown is on to our family trip to Cabo and I am trying really, really hard to stick to my diet 100%. If I am going to cheat, I try to limit it to one day a week (usually Sundays) and keep away from sweets (Costco cake you are my weakness!). The weather is starting to really warm up here so I wanted to have a light dinner that was filling but light. During my 2 hour Barefoot Contessa binge-watching fest I saw her make a grilled panzanella salad and before I had the chance to say “yum” my mom was already in the kitchen recreating it. Panzanella is a saald with bread in it and while I love bread more than just about anything (except cake) I cut the amount the original recipe calls for in half to save my waist. But other than that, the salad is very healthy, full of veggies (red onions, red and yellow peppers, cucumbers, sun-dried tomatoes, and basil leaves. You toss it with a wonderful vinaigrette and serve immediately!

What you’ll need:

For the vinaigrette:
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tbs. minced garlic
1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
2 tbs. red wine vinegar
1/2 tsp. Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the salad:
1/2 hothouse cucumber
1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes
10 large basil leaves, chopped
1 red onion, sliced into 1/4 inch rounds
1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into 3 large pieces
1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and cut into 3 large pieces
1 French baguette, cut into 1-inch thick slices

1. Heat your grill, or grill pan, so it is at about medium-high heat. In a small bowl, whisk together the garlic, mustard, vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Set aside.

2, Cut the cucumber in half, lengthwise, scoop out the seeds, and cut in to 1/2 inch thick pieces. Place the cucumber, tomatoes, and basil in a large bowl and set aside.

3. When the grill is ready, brush 1 side of the onion slices and the peppers with olive oil (or spray with olive oil spray). Place them, olive oil side down, on the grill and cook for 4 minutes. Brush the other side with olive oil (or spray), turn them over and continue cooking an additional 4 minutes. Remove the vegetables from the grill and place on a cutting board. Slice the peppers into strips, separate the onion rings and add them both to the cucumber mixture.

4. Brush the bread slices on both sides with olive oil and toast them on the grill until golden. Add them to the cucumber mixture. Pour the vinaigrette over the vegetables and toss together. Serve immediately.

 

enjoy :)

Leave a comment